Booknixie features the following awards:

Newbery Medal
started in 1922
(406 books)
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Carnegie Medal
started in 1936
(224 books)
The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. It is awarded to a book published in the United Kingdom.
Caldecott Medal
started in 1938
(339 books)
The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Young Readers Choice Award
started in 1940
(368 books)
The Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Reader's Choice Award is the oldest children's choice award in the U.S. and Canada. The award was established in 1940 by a Seattle bookseller, the late Harry Hartman, who believed every student should have an opportunity to select a book that gives him or her pleasure. Nominated titles are those published 3 years prior to the award year (for example, for the 2011 list nominees must have a copyright date of 2008), printed in the U.S. or Canada.

Award Categories: junior level | intermediate level | senior level

Every year since 1952, the Book Review has asked a panel of judges to make a selection of ten books to be honored from among the several thousand illustrated children's books published that year. 
Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
started in 1954
(18 authors)
The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.
Kate Greenaway Medal
started in 1956
(260 books)
The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people. It is awarded to a book published in the United Kingdom.
Boston Globe Horn Book Award
started in 1967
(421 books)
The Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards are among the most prestigious honors in the field of children’s and young adult literature. The awards are chosen by an independent panel of three judges.

Award Categories: Picture Books | Fiction | Nonfiction | Special Citation

The mission of the Bankstreet College of Education's Center for Children's Literature is to create, identify, and advocate for the highest quality literature for all children from infancy through adolescence. We ensure that such literature is readily accessible to every child, and to foster in parents, educators, and policy makers a commitment to the principle that good literature is fundamental to literacy.

Award Categories: Irma Black Award | The Cook Prize

Golden Kite Award
started in 1974
(243 books)
The Golden Kite Awards are the only children’s literary award judged by a jury of peers. They are given annually to recognize excellence in children’s literature.

Award Categories: Fiction | Nonfiction | Picture Books (Text) | Picture Books (Illustrations)

Coretta Scott King Book Award
started in 1977
(94 books, 4 authors)
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.    

Award Categories: Authors | Illustrators | John Steptoe Award for New Talent | Virginia Hamilton Award | John Steptoe Award for New Talent (Author) | John Steptoe Award for New Talent (Illustrator)

Parents' Choice Award
started in 1978
(511 books)
Designed to help parents and caregivers of all achievements and backgrounds make informed decisions about which new products are right for their children, the Parents' Choice Awards is the nation's oldest nonprofit program created to recognize quality children's media. Parents' Choice Foundation's panels of educators, scientists, performing artists, librarians, parents and, yes, kids themselves, identify the very best books for children of different ages and backgrounds, and of varied skill and interest levels.

Award Categories: Learning and Doing | Fiction | Historical Fiction | Nonfiction | Picture Books | Poetry | Story Books | Reference Books | Paperbacks | Homework Helpers

Virginia Readers' Choice
started in 1982
(434 books)
The Virginia Readers' Choice awards' purpose is to encourage young readers to become better acquainted with contemporary books with outstanding literary appeal, to broaden students’ awareness of literature as a life-long pleasure, to encourage reading aloud in classrooms as a means of introducing reading for pleasure, and to honor favorite books and their authors. Suggested titles are screened and those meeting eligibility requirements are considered along with committee nominations during the selection process. The books are voted on by students in classroom or library settings.

Award Categories: Primary | Elementary | Middle School | High School

Phoenix Award
started in 1985
(62 books)
The award is given to a book originally published in the English language, and is intended to recognize books of high literary merit. The Phoenix Award is named after the fabled bird who rose from its ashes with renewed life and beauty. Phoenix books also rise from the ashes of neglect and obscurity and once again touch the imaginations and enrich the lives of those who read them.
Margaret A. Edwards Award
started in 1988
(25 authors)
The Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.
the National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation. Each year, the Foundation selects five judges for the category of Young People’s Literature.
Michael L. Printz Award
started in 2000
(85 books)
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. 
New York Times Notable Children's Books
started in 2004
(122 books)
These choices represent the best in picture books, middle grade fiction and nonfiction, and young adult fiction and nonfiction, selected by the children’s book editor of The New York Times Book Review.

Award Categories: Young Adults | Middle Grade | Picture Books

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
started in 2006
(55 books)
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.